Alison Balsom: An American Rhapsody - Britten Sinfonia

Alison Balsom: An American Rhapsody

Norwich London
14 – 18 Nov 2021


The Unanswered Question


Quiet City

Florence Price arr. Still

Selection from Dances in the Canebrakes

Rodrigo arr. Gil Evans/Miles Davis

Concierto de Aranjuez

Cage arr. Callum Au

Sonatas XIV and XV ‘Gemini - after the work by Richard Lippold’


Concerto in D

Gershwin arr. Simon Wright

Rhapsody in Blue (new arrangement)



Britten Sinfonia joins forces with star trumpeter Alison Balsom in a concert harnessing the power and legacy of Miles Davis and the enduring musical influence of the Jazz Age. A shimmering arrangement from Gil Evans’ Sketches of Spain of Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez is punctuated by jazz-inspired works of the 20th century capturing the spirit of downtown New York. An arrangement of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, infused with the rhythms and noises of the modern city, and Copland’s evocative Quiet City, originally written as incidental theatrical music, complete this American-flavoured programme.

Alison Balsom is one of classical music’s most persuasive and engaging ambassadors, as well as a passionate advocate for her instrument, involved in transcribing, arranging and commissioning new works for the trumpet.


Norwich Theatre Royal: Booking now open.

Milton Court: Booking now open.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23