At Lunch One - Britten Sinfonia - Nik Bärtsch

At Lunch One 2017-18

London Cambridge Norwich
17 – 24 Nov 2017

Sarah Kirkland Snider

Pale as Centuries

Mark Bowler (OPUS2017 Winner)

Deep Green (world premiere tour)

Judd Greenstein

City Boy

Nik Bärtsch

9_3_7 (world premiere tour)


Joy Farrall

Principal Clarinet

Roger Linley

sub-principal double bass

James Woodrow

electric guitar


Nik Bärtsch’s music was praised by The New York Times for blending ‘post-modernism with a precision groove honed in the spirit of James Brown’. As curator, Bärtsch has set his latest work alongside works by Sarah Kirkland Snider, Judd Greenstein and the winner of OPUS2017, Britten Sinfonia’s competition for unpublished composers.

Download the programme notes here

Find out a little more about Mark Bowler, OPUS 2017 winner in this Q&A.

Wigmore Hall – Pre Concert Talk, 12.15pm
Nik Bärtsch and Mark Bowler (OPUS2017 winner) talk to Dr Kate Kennedy about their new works.

Cambridge – Post Concert Talk, 2.15pm
Nik Bärtsch & Mark Bowler discuss their new work and the programme.

Britten Sinfonia’s collaboration with Nik Bärtsch has been generously supported by the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation.

The London performance is part of the 2017 EFG London Jazz Festival.