Britten Sinfonia Ensemble at Turner Sims Concert Hall - Britten Sinfonia

Britten Sinfonia Ensemble

22 Apr 2017


Interlude, Op 21

Brian Elias

Oboe Quintet (world premiere tour)


String Quintet in C minor, K4O6

Oliver Knussen

Cantata for oboe and string trio

Schumann (arr. Colin Matthews)


Lennox Berkeley

String Trio, Op 19

(c) Eric Richmond


Nicholas Daniel

Principal Oboe

Miranda Dale

Principal 2nd Violin

Clare Finnimore

Principal Viola

Caroline Dearnley

Principal Cello


A programme centred on the artistry of renowned oboist Nicholas Daniel features a new work by Brian Elias, alongside Finzi’s intimate yet cinematic Interlude and Mozart’s String Quintet in C minor with the oboe taking the role of the first violin.

Brian Elias wrote about the composition of his new piece in this blog post.

Supported by Cavatina Chamber Music Trust.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23