Colin Matthews Octet - Britten Sinfonia

Colin Matthews Octet

06 Feb 2019

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546

Aleksandr Skryabin

Rêverie Op. 24 (arr. Colin Matthews) (world première)

Benjamin Britten

Temporal Variations (arr. Colin Matthews)

Colin Matthews

Octet (world première)

Richard Strauss

Metamorphosen for string septet

(c) Eric Richmond


Britten Sinfonia gives the première of a new work by Colin Matthews: Octet for oboe and chamber ensemble, featuring Britten Sinfonia’s principal and world-renowned oboist Nicholas Daniel, alongside a programme of Mozart, Skryabin, Britten and Strauss at Wigmore Hall.

Colin Matthews’ Octet is co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall and The Radcliffe Trust.

Next Productions

At Lunch One with Mahan Esfahani

Cambridge London Norwich

01.10 - 04.10.19