English Music in Yorkshire - Britten Sinfonia

English Music in Yorkshire

26 Sep 2013


Chacony in G minor


A Lament from Divertimento


Dies Natalis

John Woolrich

Ulysses Awakes


Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings



This concert is private and forms a part of the English Music in Yorkshire Tour with Martin Randall Travel.

There can be few more moving tributes to Benjamin Britten (1913-76) in his centenary year than his Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings, six settings of English poems on the theme of evening which he composed in 1943. Dies Natalis are settings for tenor and orchestra of poems by the saintly Thomas Treherne (1638-74) by Gerald Finzi (1901-56). Around these soaring masterpieces are added Britten’s arrangement of Purcell’s Chacony, the elegiac A Lament from Divertimento on ‘Sellinger’s Round’ by Sir Michael Tippett (1905-98) and the beautiful Ulysses Awakes (1989) for viola and orchestra by John Woolrich (born 1954), performed by the soloist for whom it was written.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23