Imogen Cooper and Britten Sinfonia Winds - Britten Sinfonia

Imogen Cooper and Britten Sinfonia Winds

Cambridge London
13 – 14 Feb 2014

Mark Simpson

Geysir (World premiere tour)


Quintet in E flat for piano and winds, Op16


Serenade No. 10 for winds in Bb major, K361 "Gran Partita"


Imogen Cooper


Mark Simpson



Britten Sinfonia’s celebrated wind section, including oboist Nicholas Daniel, takes centre stage in a concert which includes Mozart’s Gran Partita – a towering masterpiece of the wind repertoire. Pianist Imogen Cooper joins the musicians for Beethoven’s piano and wind quintet alongside BBC Young Musician of the Year and composer, Mark Simpson, who has been specially commissioned to write a new work scored for the same forces as the Gran Partita.

Cambridge: Pre-concert talk – 6.30pm

Tim Watts talks to Mark Simpson about his new work.

Next Productions

Anoushka Shankar & Manu Delago

London Saffron Walden Norwich

15.10 - 30.10.22