Kaleidoscopes - Britten Sinfonia


London Cambridge Norwich
29 – 05 Oct 2014


Adagio for cor anglais and string trio, K580a

Gyorgy Kurtag


Gyorgy Kurtag arr. Thomas Adès

In Memoriam Andras Mihaly

John Adams

Shaker Loops





John Tavener’s theatrical oboe concerto, Kaleidoscopes, written for and premiered by Britten Sinfonia and Nicholas Daniel in 2006, is a musical mosaic, featuring four string quartets and percussion. Tavener’s greatest musical hero, Mozart, opens the programme with his beautifully poignant Adagio and the programme is completed by John Adams’ thrilling and rhythmically powerful Shaker Loops and an arrangement by Thomas Adès of Kurtag’s spacial memorial to Andras Mihaly with musicians placed around the auditorium.

In Conversation – 6.30pm – Cambridge and Norwich

Nicholas Daniel and Jacqueline Shave discuss tonight’s programme.

Supported by the Friends of Britten Sinfonia.

There has been a change to the programme since it was originally advertised. Lutoslawski’s Prelude and Fuge have been replaced by John Adams’ Shaker Loops, and the programme will now include Gyorgy Kurtag’s Irka-Firka.

Next Productions

Alison Balsom: An American Rhapsody

Norwich London

14.11 - 18.11.21

Handel’s Messiah

Norwich London Saffron Walden

16.12 - 18.12.21