Keaton Henson: Six Lethargies - Britten Sinfonia - What's On

Keaton Henson: Six Lethargies

20 Jul 2018

Keaton Henson

Six Lethargies

Keaton Henson


The world premiere of Henson’s new piece, exploring themes of mental illness, trauma and empathy, and how art conveys emotion.

Six Lethargies is the culmination of over three years of work from the musician, artist and composer. Composed around, and from within, issues of mental illness and human emotion, the piece aims to express and explain the feelings of anxiety and depression through six connected movements for string orchestra – Britten Sinfonia.

As a performer known for his inability to perform live due to anxiety, Six Lethargies is Keaton’s way of handing his story over to the orchestra, not performing himself, he is allowing them to be his voice, as well as providing human connection and empathetic insight, all the while asking the audience ‘if I write how it feels to me, will it make you feel the same?’

Produced by the Barbican.

Next Productions

Anoushka Shankar & Manu Delago

London Saffron Walden Norwich

15.10 - 30.10.22