At Lunch Three 2012-13 - Britten Sinfonia

At Lunch Three 2012-13

Norwich Brighton Cambridge London
08 – 15 Feb 2013




Two Pieces for String Quartet (Elegy & Polka)



Jay Greenberg (Winner of 2012 University of Cambridge Composers' Workshop)

Kandinskiana (World premiere tour)*


Three Divertimenti


Miranda Dale

Principal 2nd Violin

Clare Finnimore

Principal Viola

Caroline Dearnley

Principal Cello


Two of Britten’s most admired composers and contemporaries feature in this vibrant programme with stage and dance connections. Copland’s Vitebsk takes inspiration from a Jewish folk theme by playwright Ansky while Britten’s Three Devertimenti, with its charming waltz, took its original subtitle from Shakespeare. Shostakovich’s Two Pieces is best known as music from his opera Lady Macbeth and ballet The Age of Gold. Completing the programme is a new work by the winner of the University of Cambridge Composer Workshop 2012, Jay Greenberg.

*co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall and Britten Sinfonia.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23