At Lunch One 2013-14 - Britten Sinfonia

At Lunch One 2013-14

London Norwich Cambridge
11 – 17 Dec 2013


Adagio from Violin Sonata in E Flat K481


Duo for viola and cello

Sally Beamish

The King's Alchemist (world premiere tour)


Piano Quartet No. 2 in G minor


Clare Finnimore

Principal Viola

Caroline Dearnley

Principal Cello

Huw Watkins

Principal Piano


Britten Sinfonia’s acclaimed At Lunch series begins its 2013-14 season with one of the pinnacles of Fauré’s chamber output, his superbly crafted Second Piano Quintet. The quartet strikes a genuinely equal balance amongst the four instrumentalists, three of whom will also give the world premiere of a new work for string trio by Scottish-based composer Sally Beamish. Renowned for their adventurous but thoughtful performances, Britten Sinfonia complete the programme with a movement from one of Mozart’s Violin Sonatas and Lutoslawski’s Duo for viola and cello whose centenary is celebrated in 2013.

Wigmore Hall: In Conversation – 12.15pm

James Redwood talks to Sally Beamish about her new work.

Next Productions

Alison Balsom: An American Rhapsody

Norwich London

14.11 - 18.11.21

Handel’s Messiah

Norwich London Saffron Walden

16.12 - 18.12.21