At Lunch One 2014-15 - Britten Sinfonia

At Lunch One 2014-15

Norwich Cambridge London
28 – 03 Dec 2014

Michael Berkeley


Crawford Seeger

Suite for wind quintet

Patrick John Jones (OPUS2014 Winner)

Uncanny Vale (World premiere tour)


Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, French Horn & Bassoon, Op.43


Emer McDonough

Principal Flute

Nicholas Daniel

Principal Oboe

Joy Farrall

Principal Clarinet

Sarah Burnett

Principal Bassoon


Recognised as Denmark’s greatest composer, Carl Nielsen’s fondness for wind instruments is closely related to his love of nature and in his quintet he attempted to emphasise the rustic characteristics of each instrument. He was inspired to write the quintet after hearing Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for wind and in the same vein Michael Berkeley’s Re-Inventions are based on the famous two part inventions of JS Bach. Completing this lunchtime programme we hear the premiere of a new work by the winner of OPUS2014, Britten Sinfonia and Wigmore Hall’s open call for submissions by unpublished composers.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23