At Lunch Three 2016-17 - Britten Sinfonia

At Lunch Three 2016-17

London Norwich Cambridge
19 – 21 Apr 2017



Brian Elias

New work for oboe quintet (world premiere tour)


String Quintet in C minor 406/516b

(c) Eric Richmond


Nicholas Daniel

Principal Oboe

Miranda Dale

Principal 2nd Violin

Clare Finnimore

Principal Viola

Caroline Dearnley

Principal Cello


A programme centred on the artistry of renowned oboist Nicholas Daniel featuring a new work by Brian Elias commissioned by Wigmore Hall for Nicholas and Britten Sinfonia, alongside Finzi’s intimate yet cinematic Interlude and Mozart’s String Quintet in C minor with the oboe taking the role of the first violin.

Download the programme notes.

Brian Elias wrote about the composition of his new piece in this blog post.

London – Pre-concert talk, 12.15pm
Dr Kate Kennedy talks to Brian Elias about his new work

Cambridge – Post-concert talk, 2.15pm
A discussion about the programme


Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23