Michael Berkeley 70th Birthday Concert - Britten Sinfonia

Michael Berkeley 70th Birthday Concert

20 Jul 2018


Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546


Grosse Fuge in B flat major Op. 133

Michael Berkeley

Pelus and Thetis (world premiere)


Quartettsatz in C minor D703

Michael Berkeley

Into the Ravine

Richard Strauss

Metamorphosen for string septet

(c) Eric Richmond


Composer and broadcaster Michael Berkeley has delighted millions with his award-winning Private Passions series on BBC Radio 3 and been an eloquent champion of British music and musicians. Michael Berkeley’s 70th Birthday concert includes not only some of his favourite chamber music but also a new work, commissioned by the Wigmore Hall for the oboist Nicholas Daniel. Its called Peleus and Thetis and is inspired by the Ted Hughes version of one of the Ovid Metamorphoses. For this Michael will himself join Nick to play the Crotales (ancient cymbals).

Wigmore Hall and Britten Sinfonia celebrate his 70th birthday with an evening of his chamber works.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23