мир / Peace - Britten Sinfonia Concerts - What's On in 2022

мир / Peace

Norwich Leeds Saffron Walden Basingstoke
22 – 26 Apr 2022

Magnum Opus Composers

Concert Opener*

Alissa Firsova

Stages (world premiere tour)


Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra

Prokofiev arr. Barshai

Visions Fugitives

(alternating with solo piano originals)


Serenade for Strings

Matilda Lloyd trumpet


An impassioned and melodious programme, featuring rising stars Mishka Rushdie Momen and Matilda Lloyd.

Shostakovich’s virtuosic Concerto is paired with Prokofiev’s whimsical Visions Fugitives, the original solo piano version alternating with an arrangement with orchestra. Tchaikovsky’s glorious Serenade for Strings and a new work, Stages, by Alissa Firsova complete the programme. Alissa Firsova’s work for trumpet and strings draws inspiration from the poem of the same name by Hermann Hesse.

*The concerts in Norwich, Leeds and Saffron Walden will open with the world premiere of a new work by one of Britten Sinfonia’s three Magnum Opus composers. You can find out more about our Magnum Opus composers Aileen Sweeney, Jonathan Brigg and Nathan James Dearden on their websites, and more about our Opus programmes here.

Find out more about the soloists on our blog: Matilda Lloyd (trumpet) and Mishka Rushdie Momen (piano).

This concert was initially titled ‘Russian Spring’. In light of current events, the programme has been re-named мир, Slavic for ‘peace’.

Hear music written by and performed by Alissa Firsova on our playlist on Spotify:

Pre-concert talks: Leeds (6.45pm), Basingstoke (6.30pm).

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23