Britten Sinfonia - Peasmarsh Festival concert

Peasmarsh Festival – The Philosopher’s Tone

22 Jun 2018


Symphony No. 22 in E flat major ‘The Philosopher’


Cello Concerto in D Major, G.483


Serenade (after Plato’s ‘Symposium’) for solo violin and orchestra


Following the orchestra’s appearance in 2017, Britten Sinfonia are pleased to be returning to the Peasmarsh Festival in 2018, this time under the baton of conductor Douglas Boyd. The programme features Haydn’s ‘The Philosopher’ which gained its nickname post completion, and likely not from the composer. Juxtaposed with this is Bernstein’s depiction of the great thinkers presenting their statements on love – the fantastically scored Serenade for strings, solo violin, harp and percussion. Completing the programme is one of Boccherini’s virtuosic concertos for the cello with Richard Lester as soloist.