Piano Trio at Canford - Britten Sinfonia

Piano Trio at Canford

11 Jan 2017


Four pieces for violin and piano, Op.7

Sohrab Uduman

"Dann klingt es auf..." (world premiere tour)


Verklarte Nacht



Schoenberg’s first published work, Verklarte Nacht, sees him poised on the brink between Romanticism and atonality, using bold and rich chromatic language to push tonality to its limits. Heard here in Eduard Steuermann’s arrangement for piano trio, this revered work is paired with a brand new piano trio written by Sohrab Uduman, the winner of OPUS2016; Britten Sinfonia’s competition for unpublished composers.

Download the programme notes.