Ruby Hughes & Mahan Esfahani - Britten Sinfonia

Ruby Hughes & Mahan Esfahani

Saffron Walden
15 May 2016


Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major BWV1048


Rondeau from 'Abdelazar Suite'

Purcell arr. Nico Muhly

Let the night perish (Job's Curse) Z.191


Dido's lament

Tippett (after Purcell)

A Lament


With darkness deep (Theodora)


Keyboard Concerto in D minor BWV1052


Phaedra Op.93

(c) Bernhard Musil/DG


Ruby Hughes

mezzo soprano

Mahan Esfahani


Jacqueline Shave



We are very sorry to announce that Alice Coote is indisposed and unable to perform. We are extremely grateful to mezzo-soprano Ruby Hughes for performing in her place. Due to this change, there has also been a small adjustment to the programme.

Britten’s final great masterpiece, written just before his death in 1976, is based on the dramatic legend of Phaedra, a noblewoman who falls unrequitedly in love with her stepson, causes his death, and then takes her own life.Britten Sinfonia is joined too by the award-winning Iranian-American harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani, who plays a popular keyboard concerto by Bach in addition to the vital harpsichord part in the orchestral accompaniment to Phaedra

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23