Summer at Snape I - Britten Sinfonia

Summer at Snape I

25 Jun 2021


Mother of God here I stand

Britten arr. Matthews

Temporal Variations


What though I trace each herb and flower


Little Reliquary for GFH

Tansy Davies

Dune of Footprints


Two Metamorphoses


La Noche Oscura


A programme centred around the unique sound world of John Tavener, including the posthumous world premiere of one of his last works, and a piece inspired by geological time frames by featured composer Tansy Davies.

Tavener’s evocative late work La Noche Oscura receives its first performance and his haunting Mother of God, in a ravishing string version, opens the concert. Solomon was Tavener’s favourite work by Handel, and his Reliquary is a ‘humble tribute to Handel based on a misremembered quote’.

Tansy Davies’ Dune of Footprints was inspired by walking on and being transfixed by the compressed sand and rock of the Cave of Niaux in south-western France. Davies writes that the experience triggered thoughts about ‘the flows of energy that had shaped the dune; the natural force of water over aeons of time, and the rhythm of human footfall over thousands of years’.

Concert length: approx. 60 minutes, with no interval

Part of Summer at Snape.

Booking Tickets
Tickets for Summer at Snape concerts go on sale at 10am on Saturday 15 May.

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23