Take Two: Louis Andriessen In Focus Two - Britten Sinfonia

Take Two: Louis Andriessen In Focus Two

13 Feb 2016

Bach arr. Andriessen

Prelude in B minor from Das Wohltemperierte Klavier Part 1

Bach arr. Stravinsky

Prelude and Fugue No. 24


Three pieces for string quartet

Steve Reich


Louis Andriessen

...miserere... (UK premiere of string orchestra arrangement)

Louis Andriessen




This dance-infused programme explores Andriessen’s admiration for Stravinsky, with whom he shares an acute ear for colour and clarity of expression, the influence of Bach and his life-long love of jazz.

The programme opens with two arrangements of selections from Bach’s pedagogical tome,¬†Das Wohltemperierte Klavier, and closes with Andriessen’s moving, ethereal¬†Dances for soprano and chamber orchestra. In between, there’s …miserere…, Andriessen’s mystical string quartet, heard here in the UK premiere of an arrangement for string orchestra, and Steve Reich’s delicate¬†Duet for strings.

Next Productions

Alison Balsom: An American Rhapsody

Norwich London

14.11 - 18.11.21

Handel’s Messiah

Norwich London Saffron Walden

16.12 - 18.12.21