Voyages of Love and Loss - Britten Sinfonia - What's On

Voyages of Love and Loss

16 Jul 2021


Oboe Quartet in F major

Jon Paul Mayse

Voyage of the Mayflower* (world premiere)


Trio for Flute, Violin and Viola in D major

Peter Warlock

The Curlew


Four-hundred-and-one years after the Voyage of the Mayflower, Lincolnshire International Chamber Music Festival commemorates this event with a specially commissioned work entitled Voyage of the Mayflower by American composer, Jon Paul Mayse, who has set a new text by American poet, Peter Wolrich. Artist-in-Residence, Mark Padmore together with one of Britain’s most loved ensembles, Britten Sinfonia, gives the work its world premiere. As well as favourites by Mozart and Beethoven, audiences will have the chance to experience a not-so-frequent outing of Warlock’s The Curlew – one of the most powerfully striking compositions in the English musical timeline.

*commissioned by Lincolnshire International Chamber Music Festival

Part of Lincolnshire International Chamber Music’s Summer Festival 2021

Next Productions

The Golden Road to Samarkand

London Saffron Walden

10.02 - 11.02.23

Laura van der Heijden

Norwich Bury St Edmunds

01.03 - 02.03.23